Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

And that is why I love my job...

2004-09-22 - 9:27 p.m.

So, today started out okay. I left for work a bit early because Clifton was supposed to be packed with all of those students who don't know where to go on the first day of school. So, I got in my car at about four after nine, thinking that, even if I hit horrendous traffic, I'd make it to work by 9:30. My car wouldn't start. So, Booie came out and jumped it and I was well on my way by 9:17. Not a problem. As SOON as I pulled into my parking spot, Jupiter died and his "Service Engine Soon" light came on. He wasn't pulled in as far as I would have liked, but at least he was in his spot. So, I went into work, called Triple A, called Saturn and arranged to have Jupi towed to Saturn. The tow man was very nice and I wasn't even offended when he said, "Okay, you have a nice day sweetie." as he pulled away with my precious Jupi. So, Jupi rode up 71 to Saturn and a few minutes later, Saturn called me to tell me how much it would cost to fix him. $479.04. One battery. One positive charge cable. One new taillight (I knew I was having taillight problems, but not at the tune of $136 - something about shit melting in there - whateva). And, an oil change (which Jupi has needed since April, but I never felt like I had enough money to get it changed. I decided to just 'tack it on' after hearing all of the other charges - what's another 25 bucks anyway, right?) So, this sucks big time... BUT... I feel okay about it. It could have been worse. Somehow I made it ALL THE WAY to work without having anything happen. Jupi could have completely died on the highway on my way to work. He didn't. I have $145 in my checking account right now (not very normal for me two days prior to payday). On Friday, I will be getting my regular check as well as my last check from my old job which will be about $300. So, there's $445. And, it would have been fun extra money to have. But, I can pay for Jupi's doctor visit and hopefully, he will never fall apart again (or else he's grounded). And, I will be okay. Besides, I didn't spend 30 minutes today sitting on the toilet and doodying in front of some medical assistant lady in my oncology doctor's office. And, I didn't spend the majority of those 30 minutes talking about how my doctor had just told me that I have three to six months to live. Or about how I used to be a hairdresser and I had my own salon and everything, but today, today, I'm just bound and determined to not need help wiping my ass. And I didn't need to talk about how the news of my impending death would affect my family. And, I didn't have to ask the medical assistant if she could smell that "odor" and assure her that she could leave if she wanted. And, I didn't have to wonder, as everyone from the office said goodbye to me, if they would go back inside, shake their heads and question if I'd even be alive to see them at my appointment in two weeks.

So, you see? My $479 wasted/gone is really no big fucking deal. Someone else had a much worse day than I did.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!