Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Done with the HD

2004-09-04 - 12:24 p.m.

So, I went into work at my Old Job today and was just hoping to be able to get through the day without having to deal with any bullshit from managers, co-workers or customers. I got that and then some. They actually weren't expecting me today as they thought I had just quit rather than give my 2 weeks (so typical there, why wouldn't they think that?!?!). So, I stayed and did the Kids Workshop and then, when it was time to go, I cleaned out my locker, said goodbye to a few people, and left. It's so awesome to have that behind me - I mean, I took the job out of desperation, hoping to only stay there for a couple of months until I found another job. Well, 18 months later I gave up on my "send-out-at-least-three-resumes-a-week" job search and just decided to stay there until I could figure out what to do for a career (NOTE FOR COLLEGE STUDENTS: English degrees do not work in the real world). A few months after that is when I saw this kick-ass awesome site and decided to pursue a BSN. Now, here I am, about 17 months after that, finally getting out of Home Depot. And, I had to obtain my EMT certification just to get out because you can't do anything in the field unless you're in your last year of nursing school or you have EMT/paramedic certification! Whew - the job market is tough.

But, I'm so happy now and I love my new job. Both Thursday and Friday were days that I went home smiling in addition to just laughing and having fun all day. I love the patients. I'm getting to know quite a few on a more personal level and I'm finding that now that I know what I'm doing, I can relax a bit more and just chat with them while I work them up. I love it. And they're so strong - oh so fucking strong. I can't believe how much life you can have when you have cancer. It's all just so amazing. I've even started a journal for my new job: I've got a section for patients that mean something to me, a section for stuff I wanna know about the big C, and a section for just random cancer stuff.

I knew I would be happier and I would love it all, but I never knew it would be this great.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!