Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

One bag of cheese curls consumed in a 2-day period is not bad, is it?

2004-04-29 - 6:08 p.m.

Clinicals = big joke. No one knew I was going to be there. And, once they did know I was there, I just kind of followed them around like a puppy because no one knew what it was they were supposed to show me, if anything. So, I followed people and saw the ER. This is what else I got to see: about 8 traumas come in (one was aircared in), 2 penises, 1 vagina, 4 breasts, 1 deaf-mute patient, 1 shitty-attitude doctor (a woman too!), 1 HIV+ patient, 1 suicidal patient, 1 patient who found out right then and there that she was less than a month pregnant, 1 nice nursing student, 1 shitty-attitude nurse (a woman too!), 1 smelly man. Pretty good for just five hours of standing around and observing, huh? So, I've decided I'm not going back for my second clinical portion. I'm just going to finish that up with a squad. I've also decided I never want to go to University Hospital's ER if I am ever in need of some ER assistance. I've also learned that I really like to know what happens to my "patients" after they go wherever they go for testing. Not all of them... but, there are a few I wonder about today.

I am hooked on Red Bull light - I've had about four in the past 24 hours. I've got another four in my fridge. Those effers are so effing expensive, but I heart them so much that I will fork over the money for them. Today, I worked 11 hours. Tomorrow, I expect much of the same - hence the Red Bull extravaganza going on in my tummy. God, I'm tired.

I really do wonder what happened to my patients - especially that one girl/woman. I wiped her nose and tears and now she is just gone.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!