Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Scared

2004-02-03 - 3:35 p.m.

I have my first chemistry exam in two hours and twenty five minutes. I've been studying my ass off and now understand bond polarity, dipoles, polyatomic ions and shit like that. I still love it. I hope I do well.

I just got my first pair of scrubs in the mail yesterday. I did pretty well on figuring out what size to get... they're a little loose, but I'd rather have too big than too small. I wore them last night and Booie just laughed at me. I said I had to practice... how else would I be a good nurse if I didn't know how to properly wear scrubs? In our EMT class last night, we had to wear C-collars through the whole video about how to use them effectively. They are not comfortable. Tomorrow, we are going to practice strapping people on backboards or placing them on stretchers, stair chairs, etc. I hope I don't drop anyone or make them so snug that they stop breathing. I guess that is why we practice. The EMT instructor told us that if the stretcher ever collapses on its own, we're supposed to pretend like it was supposed to happen. Weird.

I also have an EMT exam tomorrow night. I'm not sure I have to study that much b/c she pounds this stuff into our brains and we have workbook stuff to do at home, homework, take home quizzes, in-class quizzes, lectures and she really just makes sure we know it all so I think I'll be fine.

Next quarter, I think I'm just going to take a class called 'Anatomy and Physiology for Paramedics' in addition to my EMT course. No biology. This way, I will still have six hours and won't lose my aid, I won't be taking a 'waste' class like English and I can learn some more stuff that will only help me in the long run. And,I won't be worried about passing my EMT exam and figuring out biology. I'll just take bio in the summer - biology is fun in the summer, right? The A & P class will be held on Monday afternoons from 1-3:50 and that's it. So, then I'll just have my EMT class from 6:30 - 9:30 on Mondays and Wednesdays. Also, the A&P class is self-paced so I'm thinking we just do the class with web and book materials on our own. Who knows? So I might be able to have Sundays and Mondays off next quarter which would **gasp** mean on Sundays I don't have to go ANYWHERE. Except to workout and probably to the store and I'm sure I'll have to clean and do laundry. But, if I don't want to, I don't have to...

I hope I'm doing the right thing(s) with my life. I am so afraid of doing something wrong or going in the wrong direction that I just get stuck a lot. I think that could happen with this nursing thing. But, I realize I do it so, I'm trying very hard not to this time around. I've been hanging around in the same spot in my life for years and it's time to move on whether it's truly the right thing to do or not.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!