Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Effing Apartment: The events of the last hour and a half

2003-12-30 - 9:15 p.m.

7:40 p.m.: Bill and I were sitting in the hallway, searching through old VHS tapes to find a movie to watch and heard a noise. We investigated. A small portion of the ceiling in Booie's room had fallen in. I could tell more was going to fall so we got out of there and called Booie. While on the phone with Booie, more fell. Now there is a 5 x 5 (FOOT) hole in the ceiling. Neat.

7:45 p.m.: Called the landlords at home. Their daughter answered and, when she told me her parents weren't home, I told her to tell her parents to give me a call.

7:46 p.m.: Called the landlords and left a message at their business next door.

I've also written them a letter (because that's the only way we can put our rent in escrow) and placed it on the front door of their business. Will we hear from them tonight? Highly unlikely. Tomorrow? yes, I'm sure we'll hear from them tomorrow. The question is, in what form and when? Will they just knock on the door and come right in at 9 a.m. or will they simply call later in the day, with an unconcerned tone in their voices? I have no idea. All I know is this means I CANNOT sleep in on the last day of my vacation because I have to be ready for whatever it is they MiGhT do. I'll workout at 7 a.m. so I am home by 9 so that, if they do come in (and leave the door open which I know they will do b/c they have no regard for anything of ours), Bill will not run away. God, I hate this place. We are SO out of here. Really, tell me the truth: do we deserve to be this angry about all of the shit we've had to deal with since being here?

Last November: Another whole section of Booie's ceiling fell in (8x8 feet?). It took them two weeks to fix it and they never paid Booie for anything that was damaged (mainly the ENTIRE bed - mattress, sheets, comforter).

This past November: We had windows installed. They said it would take one day. It took two. Whatever. Who cares about that. During the installation, an heirloom was broken and OUR FUCKING DOOR TO OUR APARTMENT WAS LEFT WIDE OPEN FOR WHO KNOWS HOW FUCKING LONG BECAUSE, AS PHIL SAID, "Well, he (the installer) must not have been able to find me to get the door locked."

And now this. How much more do we have to deal with? Are we right in thinking we can put our rent in escrow and deal with them through the courts? I've looked into it a lot and I think we'd have a fair case. Because these guys are ridiculous. I have no idea how they treat the tenants in the 3 other apartments up here. All I know is that I have never been so disappointed in my entire life and it certainly makes me WANT A HOUSE!!!!! God. We have to get a house. This is so ridiculous. And, after my dealings today with my bankruptcy lawyer, I'm almost certain I could talk to them about getting the trustee to grant me permission to search (with Booie) for a mortgage.

But, really... am I being ridiculous?!?! What would YOU do?

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!