Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

nursing

2006-05-08 - 8:46 p.m.

so, i'm off. ended the semester with 2 As and 3 Bs. not bad, considering i know jack shit regarding all of that cell crap. biology and stuff. but, boy, when you understand it and can understand that there are only 16 amino acids and stuff and why they exist, it is neato beyond belief. the human body is so effing amazing, i swear. and the patients that are inside those human bodies are even more effing amazing. i cannot wait to latch onto them like it's my job. i mean, i already have - the few patients i get every week. it is so much effing fun. i love my patients. i can see inside of them and i love them for everything they have - all of their aches and pains and happiness and sadness and life outside of the hospital and being sick. i am just way too compassionate, i think, but i also think it's good. i mean, who else in the medical profession really, truly cares about all of your friends in high school that you are missing because you are in the hospital because your periods are too heavy because of some damn blood disorder you have? and who else has the time to really listen to you as you talk about them because you are too frightened to talk about your own disease because you are 14 and 14 year olds just do not have diseases. not that i'm this great person, or anything, but i can listen while i do other things. other people just seem to pop in and out and find out what they need and they go on their merry way and input orders into the computer like they're ordering up a bucket of chicken. me? as a nurse? i get to listen. i have no orders to input. sure - i follow orders, but i also get to question them if i think they are not what my patient needs. i get to know so much about people at such a vulnerable time in their lives. i get to love them. WHAT IN THE HELL COULD BE BETTER THAN THIS????? seriously. i love all of my patients. the ones i've had and my future ones. i cannot wait for my toughest patient ever. i cannot wait for the patient who spits in my face and cannot stand me and calls me names because he/she is out of their mind with their sickness. i already love them.
i was so meant to be a nurse, it's not even funny.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!