Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

wow

2006-04-07 - 12:26 a.m.

i am sick. i have been dealing with tummy crap all day and now, have sore head and sore throat. and achy bones. i am sad i am sick because, today, was our first day on the peds hem/onc unit. i met my little guy today. he's five. he's been in the hospital since the last time it was 80+ degrees around here. he TURNED five in the hosptial. i was excited to see him again tomorrow. but, considering his white count is only 0.9 and he's fighting a terrible form of cancer, i prolly shouldn't go anywhere near him. or anyone else for that matter. in fact, it's prolly a good thing i didn't touch him at all today. too bad i breathed on him. yikes.
maybe i'll get him next time. it's amazing - 18 years ago, i told my mom i wanted to be a nurse and "help kids with cancer". she told me two things: 1)i did NOT want to be a nurse. they work terrible hours and never have weekends off and they work really hard. and 2)if i was to ever be a nurse, i definitely did not want to work with kids who had cancer. that is the most depressing job ever.
i believed her. and did other things. now, i've got this tremendous opportunity to see if this is really it. i can't believe i'm finally doing it. i'm still so stuck in my 13-year-old-dream-world that i can't believe i'm even grown up enough to have "my foot in the door".

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!