Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

I survived Friday the 13th

2006-01-14 - 11:30 a.m.

Started school. First week was tough, but okay. The next 8 weeks will be insane. Non-stop stuff. That's med/surg for you, i guess. I had my first patient yesterday - I liked him and will prolly always remember him. His potassium was low (3.0) - that was not a good thing on top of all of the other things that his body is dealing with.
Other than that, things are good. Suicide friend is done being suicidal (for now) - currently, we're in the "keep on keeping her well" stage where we have to keep our plans open all the time in case she ever wants to pop on into our lives ('our' meaning me and my friends A&W)and hang out. This caused quite a mess on thursday night when it was assumed that I would be able to join my friends A&W at suicide friend's house for dinner. I had too much shit to do and couldn't go. And it turned into a mess. But, c'est la vie, I suppose... There are fewer messes nowadays so, I'm guessing that is good. I guess that's why, when they happen, they hurt so much. Regardless, it is nice to have a break from the nightly suicide threats/texts/calls and wondering every morning if this woman is still alive and then, going through the day wondering and calling and texting and not getting a thing until 11 p.m. when it all starts again. It is nice to be done with that.
Oh - went with my friends A&W last night up to a buddy of W's. He lives like 10 minutes away from where my grandma used to live. It was neat to be back up there. And it was nice to hang out with the folks who were there - W's friend and four other people. 'Twas a good hangout evening despite the 1.5 hour drive (that i did not even have to make or worry about - i felt like a little kid sitting in the back seat falling asleep and shit. i even pulled out an 'are we there yet?').
Other than that, all okay. Have a four-day weekend. Then, the shit will hit the fan again. Have class all day wednesday (learning much new stuff for exam on the following monday - pharmacology!) and then, must go to the hospital to pick up my patient assignment and come home and work on that. Then, thursday and friday, i'll be back in the hospital from 7-3, taking care of my patient. It is way fun. I really do feel like all of this is meant for me. I mean, I KNOW it was all created for me (kidding!)... i am so comfortable there and i know what i'm doing and i just love it. i just gotta figure out what "branch" of nursing i want to go into... there's so much to do that is so interesting, it will be difficult to narrow it down.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!