Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004 In a NUT shell....

2004-12-31 - 1:17 p.m.

January: I started my EMT course just so I could get the job I have now. There was a big, slippery snow one night after Chemistry and it took me an hour to get home and I hated snow (much the way I have learned to hate snow again during this past week).

February: February was fun. I don't remember much except for thinking that Chemistry was the neatest thing ever and my EMT class was rad.

March: I turned 29 and got to take a Chemistry exam for my birthday present. Tres fun. I think I also started my new position as a "take care of the plants" person at my old job. Which was the best slacker job ever, but so so important. Then, it was like spring break and stuff and I think I got my hair cut.

April: I got to go to my cousin's wedding, where we all got to watch my bitch aunt make an ass of herself by smoking pot with him in the parking lot.

May: Let's see, May. Oh, I think I started freaking out about my National EMT exam during this month. And, my little brother turned 22. And I freaked out some more about my EMT exam.

June: I finished up all of my classes for the quarter, took my National EMT exam, passed that, got my little registry number and my patch and my official "membership card" to show that I was truly an EMT and then, I applied for the job I wanted. I also started taking biology at the end of June, where I ended up meeting two very beautiful people with whom I still keep in touch. AND - I also sorta met 2 of the 3 people that now consist of my (life saving) "anatomy buddies".

July: I just kept working and going to biology and bitching about biology because, especially at the end, the work just kept piling up, but I got through it all. And, I got my job. And, I packed up our apartment and we got all ready to move into our little house. And, I started my new job and I was dizzy for a week at the end of July. I think I got my hair cut again around this time as well.

August: We moved. It was hell. I relaxed a lot because I had no school to worry about. I learned more about my new job and learned to stick people and actually get some blood out of them. I started getting to know a few of the "regulars" (patients) at work, but never let them really get to me.

September: I kept on trying to relax. Until it was time for school and anatomy to start again. Then, I got all nervous and throw-uppy and wrote a letter to a sorta friend at the time in desperation and for tips on how to get through anatomy without throwing up all over myself. She wrote back and we have been like best friends ever since.

October: I still couldn't relax very well, but my new friend helped a lot. My dizziness got worse. I started cutting. I bought a pumpkin and never carved it. I got out in the woods a lot and walked and just enjoyed how beautiful it was like every freakin' weekend. Lost the first patient who ever made a real impact on me.

November: I kept on cutting and getting out to the woods. Both were great stress relievers. I realized there would be no way to get an A in Anatomy. Visited the ER due to way too much dizziness. I got my hair cut. We had Thanksgiving at my aunt's house. Never saw bitch aunt or her son or his new wife and kid. Really started getting to know more of my patients on a personal level. Stopped caring that my heart might get broken if/when these people die and started caring more for them while they are/were alive.

December: Got my B in Anatomy. Survived. Relaxed over break. Had a very life changing moment over break - just one week before Christmas. It snowed over break (and it better not snow any more, damnit!). Didn't cut over break (it's been 16 days - I feel like an addict). Had a nice Christmas with the family. Wasn't able to spend Christmas Eve with them due to snow. Worked on Christmas Day. Enjoyed every minute of it. Really. That is not sarcasm.

My life is really okay. Let's hope 2005 is just as good and prosperous and happy and fun.

I did not see the ball tonight - too busy just chatting with my friend about life and stuff. The first time ever. I imagined it though. I think I would've liked my memory/imagination better anyway....

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!