Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

The Internet

2003-10-07 - 12:58 a.m.

I think I would have gotten a lot less work done had I had a computer during my first time around in college. I know when I was first deposited at Miami ten years ago, about half the people on our floor had computers. Probably one per room. I didn't have one. My roommate had a really old one and she only used it for writing papers. In fact, that's what most everyone used their computers for. If we wanted internet access (which we really didn't b/c why couldn't you just go to the library and look up what you needed?!?!), we had to go to one of the computer labs. I remember being ecstatic at the thought of actually being able to play solitaire on a computer and not have to worry about messing with the damn cards and keeping them in order on my floor. I played a few games of solitaire each week on my friend, Shannon's computer. Sometimes, my friend Alex would play solitaire on her computer. But, most times, when I would walk past their doors and peek in, they'd be deliberately working on their papers or studying their books or just chilling. There was no way for us to get quick fixes about the latest movies, music, guys, diseases, stock prices, diets, etc. by just hoping on the web. Now, I don't know how they do it. I think I would freak if we were all put in that same situation now. We would all have computers. We'd all have internet access. And, we'd all sit there and hop on the web and not do our work and then, do some work and then, hop on the web again and never ever ever talk to anyone and forget fucking soliaire b/c that is so useless and why would anyone play that and we would never ever rollerblade together or go on Ron hunts or just sit up and talk or CALL our parents on the phone and be content about the fact that they were going to pay the long distance charges.

I just find it amazing how much has changed in ten years. And, I hate the fact that I DO have the internet to distract me. It's too easy. And, it scares me that, while I was sitting here studying today, I was puzzled as to how I got through the first 23 years or so of my life without direct, fast access to anything in the world I would ever want to know anything about. And, I was thinking about my senior year when all I would do was study and sit in my room and listen to music and take care of myself and nothing was fast-paced and I watched teevee maybe once or twice a week. Sometimes, I wish I was back in that shell.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!