Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

It's still there.

2003-07-24 - 10:49 a.m.

The following is from an entry of mine from 4/22/02 - EVERYTHING is still the same AND I'm acting on it. I've thought about the nursing thing a lot lately (what kind I want to be, etc.) and I'm really hoping there are places out there just for kids/teens who are dying - and I hope they hire me.

Now, all I have to do is hear back from U.C. and get this shit in motion!!! I still haven't heard from them (even though it's been more than a month since I turned in my app.) and I've written to them twice trying to find out if there's anything else I need to do to complete my application. No response. Don't these people know they're fucking with futures here? Fucking with futures. Sounds like a band.

(from last year)**My mom talked to me this weekend about going into the "medical profession" - I won't lie... I have thought about it. And, not just a fleeting thought... but, since I was about 12. And, not constantly... I think I always tried to shy away from it because my mom is a nurse. But, I remember telling my mom when I was 12 that I would love to "work with" young kids (7 & 8 year olds) who are terminally ill and know they're going to die... I just remember her saying, "YOu don't want to do that... that's too depressing." and I believed it... but, I think it's true that I really do want to do that. I would love to help a kid have the best last few months/weeks/days of his/her life... all while in the confines of a hospital. Sure, it would suck and I'd attend a lot of funerals. And, i don't really know how I'd deal with the parents. But, I would kick ass with the kids. We would have so much fun. And have some serious talks about dying and living and all of that fun stuff. And, we'd just live. And, it would be good. So, yes... I'm going to look into that. I would like to wear scrubs too.**

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!