Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Turn Around

2010-01-16 - 8:13 p.m.

Jenna never did really regain consciousness yesterday so, with input from the doctors, her family decided to stop all treatment and just keep her comfortable until the end.

I was a superuser again today so, I was able to help the nurse taking care of her - she didn't need much help since now, Jenna is just kinda hanging out, pain free, and waiting for the cells to kill her. Her mom hugged me in the hallway 2 or 3 times and both she and her dad talked to me intermittently all day long about different stuff, but mostly questioning whether or not they're doing the right thing (with all aspects of her care, having visitors, etc. right now - not just about stopping the chemo). I had no idea what to say, but just told them that what they're going through is normal, but that they can't sit around (particularly in the future) and think about stuff they did right and wrong and eventually blame themselves for Jenna's demise. anyway, it was just a sad, sad day. Her sisters were there with Jenna's boyfriend, and I saw them as they were leaving the hospital - her younger sis was like, "Yeah.... we're gonna go grab some dinner and then, maybe go workout. You know... just get away for a few hours." Ahhh - so nice to hear that. Sitting at the bedside and waiting can wear you out like nothing else so, I'm happy they're recognizing that it's okay to leave for a bit and take care of themselves.

This is all for today. Signing off.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!