Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Bandy, Dennis & Christmas

2009-12-28 - 1:36 p.m.

I'm at ten pounds lost. Last week, I freaked b/c my total weight loss was only at 5 - yes, I gained two back. WTF?!?! The nurse practitioner told me not to freak. And then, I realized... whoa! 5 pounds is amazing! And now, I'm at ten and it's been less than two weeks and that is freakin' amazing! So, there's that.

And Christmas - it was good. Spent time with my mom and bro on Christmas Eve and then, on Christmas Day, I got to work at the muffin house. It was all good. Until 3 p.m. - when I picked up Dennis....

So, onto Dennis... I took care of him for just those four hours Christmas Day and both days this past weekend. Yuck. He is sick. He is in pain. He never complains of pain. I just checked his orders from home and he's now on a PCA (pain pump). Thank God. Yesterday, he had some biopsies done. The results aren't conclusive yet and it sucks. He was told he could die during the biopsies - know what he said? "I wanna live." But, he didn't die. His family was told that he probably won't make it much longer unless whatever it is we biopsied is just and infection. And even then... oh Christ, even then... have you seen his face? Well, i have. And that's what they biopsied - his jaw/gums. And the typical bone marrow aspirate. But, his face is GROWING. I literally watched it grow on Saturday. It stopped yesterday. But, what the fuck? It could be leukemia, they say. And that's how he initially presented - with puffiness to his face. But, it could also be this nasty fungal shit called mucoid. Two of our other kids have had it lately. And, if Dennis has it, then, we're probably fucked. Because it's not normal. And, the last time we had an "outbreak" of this stuff they found out it was in OUR ventilation system. Nice. Nice. Nice. Yes - let's kill the children b/c of our air ducts.

So, Dennis... now that I know he is more than likely dying, I'm okay. On Saturday, I was not. That was a tough day. Everyone is just watching and waiting.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!