Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Seven pounds gone!

2009-12-17 - 4:30 p.m.

Alrighty, kids... I did it! I'm officially a bandster. A friend who used to have a band, but had to have it removed b/c she got pregnant(not normal), named her: Antonio Banderas. Which is an absolutely BRILLIANT name and I'm really quite jealous I can't use it myself. So, I'm trying to come up with a name for mine. So far Lappy and Bandie are all I can come up with and I am not at all thrilled with those names. Help me, friends!
So, onto some highlights. Versed rocks. I had never had it before, but have heard all about how wonderful it is. And it IS! I was just lying on the stretcher outside of my OR, with people whipping around me and I was just like, "Hmmm... this looks like a fun place to work." and I just kept watching diferent people so intensely, it wasn't even funny. Then, they got me in the OR, and all strapped down on my bed and I was just like, "La la la la la... I bet they're gonna turn on those two huge lights above me so they can see better. Oh look! That lady over there is counting all kinds of scissors and scalpels and other instruments they're gonna use to slice up my tummy. Hmmm... well, I hope she keeps good count of them!" Yeah - with no versed, I'm pretty sure I would've been like, "Um, okay. I know I'm strapped down to this table now, but I really want to leave." and I probably would've started taking stuff off so I could bolt the eff out of there.
The next miracle drug of mine is dilaudid - after surgery, in PACU, my AMAZING nurse kept giving me morphine and I was like, "Yeah - not working. Mega pain." and she tried and tried and tried and then, she maxed me out on morphine. So, she switched between dilaudid and fentanyl and OMG - my magic pain drug right there! She was so very kind, too! And, I was with her for like 4 hours - kinda not typical, but it took a while for them to get my pain under control. After we figured out morphine doesn't touch me though, my pain was pretty well-controlled.
And today - it is barely there! I'm still taking some pain meds here and there to help me sleep, but that's about it. I honestly think I'll be able to work on Saturday! I think my only issue with that will be stamina - not sure my body can do 12 hours, but we'll see... I'll definitely know better tomorrow.
And, the best news? I'm keeping all my food down, haven't had much pain in the way of gas pain (apparently, that shit gets so bad people are just in tears, but none for me!), only feel nauseous every once in a while, AND I've lost seven pounds already!

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!