Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

SO EXCITED! "and i just can't hide it, i'm about to lose control and i think i like it...."

2009-12-11 - 12:35 a.m.

So, I'm pretty exhausted. Shopping today for food and Christmas gifts. Yay! I'm now "food ready" for my surgery. Got lots of soups, cottage cheese, yogurt and whey protein. I even splurged and got the little snacky things for cottage cheese and got some of those "soup at hand" things in addition to cans of soup. This is so it will be easier to take it all to work. It's gonna be hard enough to not eat all the CRAP that everyone brings in around the holidays. It's not crap, really. It's very sweet. SO many families give us stuff. And, my co-workers seem to bring stuff in everyday. It's pretty nice. But, I won't be eating it this year so, I thought I'd be nice to myself and have what I CAN eat be mighty accesible and easy peasy. So, in four days I'll be five hours away from the time I have to be at the hospital. I am getting SO excited! I'll probably still be up at that time, too! I'm having a hard time sleeping lately b/c I'm so excited. Oh - I just cannot wait. I bought some new jammie pants today for the hospital - they've got Snoopy on them. What could be better?!? And some new undies... that can't ever hurt even though I'm gonna be nakey under the gown during surgery. Funny how, when I was little, that was my biggest fear; having to go to the doctor and show him my butt or vagina. Or having to be hospitalized and have them see everything, too! Now I just don't care. I've learned that, yes, we look at it, but we HONESTLY don't care, nor do we remember it. And, it something "personal" is exposed and we're working on a specific spot, we really just concentrate on that spot and don't pay attention to anything else. So yay! People getta see me nake and I ain't skeered!
I finished all my Christmas shopping today as well. Got some stuff at Target (my brother wanted socks and undershirts - really?!?! - but, I understand... when you can't really afford that stuff, it's nice to have someone else buy it). I'm getting him a few other things - don't want it to be one of those Christmases where he only gets "clothes" that he needs, but would really rather not have asked for. My mom's gift was purchased online. As well as a few others. I even got myself a little gift! It's a butterfly necklace (one of my former muffins - still alive! - used to LOVE butterflies and it reminds me of her). Plus, I love the inscription on it: "Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, she became a butterfly." Brilliant. And so true.
You know, I am happy right now. I have been for a couple of months. I don't know if it's the surgery and the idea of finally being healthy, my new work schedule, or what? I think it's a combo of just everything. Now that I'm officially a day shift nurse, I am SO amazed at how much more stuff I can get done b/c I'm not sleeping all the time! And, I don't have to "prepare" for work by napping or whatnot. It's so great and I would never go back to nights! Pluse, on my days off, I certainly don't get up at 4:45 like I do on work days, but I'm usually up by 8 or 9. Again, I get SO much more done! I love it!
So, that's all.... four days and counting, folks!

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!