Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

One week left!

2009-12-06 - 11:49 p.m.

8 days. That's it. No more eating after that. Okay, so I'll still eat. But, you know... it'll be drastically changed.
Everything is approved. I've had lab work, EKGs, multiple doctor visits and even some antibiotics. My body is ready. My mind is ready. I had to start a pre-surgery diet a few weeks ago and that is going better than expected - eight pounds lost already! I just cannot believe that. But, it's good. They say that if you even lose 1% of your current body weight prior to surgery, your surgery will be extremely successful. So, yay for me! Especially since weight loss just hasn't really happened for me over the past few years no matter how hard I tried. So... my best friend from the 7th grade who had the lap band placed in April made some goals that weren't weight-loss-based. I'm gonna be a copycat and start thinking of some:

1) Wear those Urbane scrubs that I have sitting in my closet.
2) Fit back into some scrub tops I was able to wear when I first became a nurse.
3) Be able to see into my scrub top pockets without having to push a boob aside.
4) Say goodbye to my neck rolls (yuck!).
5) Have to move my rings to "fatter" fingers.
6) Fit into "those" jeans - the ones I could wear when I started grad school. You know, when I thought I was fat... and about 40 pounds lighter.
7) Feel comfortable tying a isolation gown around my waist rather than securing it at the neck as I do now.
8) Wear size medium gloves (at work) comfortably again.
9) Wear size 7 sterile gloves comfortably again. Get rid of those 7 and 1/2s!
10) Feel ridiculous wearing my current size 2 XL scrub tops.

That's all I can come up with for now. My friend had so many more, but well... I just must not be as good as her. :) It doesn't matter. I'll add more later. Especially as things come up.

My goals for this week are to:
1) Enjoy food.
2) Mentally prepare for "eating" a liquid diet for two weeks following surgery.
3) Practice being in the breakroom at work without automatically eating whatever is on the table. Use water instead since that's all I'll be able to "eat" through the holidays (when families and co-workers bring in a schload of stuff!)
4) Take fat pictures.
5) Organize my closet by size.

Oh - I so cannot wait! It's gonna be nice to be healthy again - and that's really what this is all about. Yes, the weight loss will be tremendous and I'm hoping to just eventually feel like a super model in a normal body every day. But, I really just don't wanna die in my 50s or 60s. Or even 40s. Shit - even 30s. I just wanna LIVE. I was on the wrong track for a while and that's okay. I think what's important now is that I'm working on getting back onto the right track. And I'm being patient about it. In the past, if my life wasn't "fixed" in an instant (one week or less), I would give up. I have to remember this is LIFELONG. And my life will be long...

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!