Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Lap Band

2009-10-03 - 12:31 a.m.

So, I'm starting this up again. And, it's locked. So, really only Bathy and Bebelua will read it. Hello ladies!

Here's why it's locked. Because Bebelua locked hers and I thought it was a good idea AND while most of my past stuff in here is pretty personal, I'm gonna get mega personal here pretty quickly.

The reason is that I've opted to get a LapBand placed around my tummy. Because I am now 100 pounds overweight. Yes. There, I said it. I am 5'8". I should weigh 140. You do the math. While I am lucky in the fact that, since I am tall, it doesn't look as shitty on me if I were 5'3", it still looks pretty disgusting. And with my big breasts, I just look like a jacked up football player. It's gross. Really.

So, I had my "evaluation" today. I was there for 70 minutes and spent about 3 minutes with the nurse practioner, 4.5 minutes with the surgeon and 7 minutes with the dietician. All for the low price of one $15 co-pay! Once I get a psych eval done (God, I hope I pass) and have my primary care doc send them info, they'll pass everything along to my insurance. Which, should go smoothly. The NP and the dietician both said that Children's and their insurance plan is amazing with this process - I guess they pretty much trust that we know we're fat and we need help. Which is nice. So, surgery should happen before the end of the year.

Another reason I want to write in here again is because I REALLY want to be able to "talk" about work somewhere. Like my muffins, their diagnoses, their families, etc. This is the only place I can do something like that safely.

So, that's it for now. I have weight-loss goals I want to write about, but that will have to wait for another post. It's nothing like, "I want to lose so many pounds by such-and-such date." It's more like, "Wow. I'd love to be able to get a pen out of my pocket at work without having to shove my breast aside first." So, there you have it. A big ol' cliffhanger... the suspense is intense, ain't it?

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!