Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my daddio

2007-01-23 - 9:55 p.m.

my dad will be going in for a test on thursday. to see if he has colon cancer. he has been dealing with low blood levels the past few months and they suspected that something else in his body was growing and that it needed the extra blood to grow. they did a colonscopy yesterday and found a stricture in his colon. sometimes, they're benign and an indication of a less-serious disease (not that all diseases aren't serious). sometimes, though, they're indicative of cancer. i wasn't scared yesterday. in fact, i even sent my mom an email telling her not to worry because worrying for three days would drive her nuts, especially if it turns out to be nothing. i sent her that because she sent me an email asking about colon cancer and my first thought was, "hold up a minute, mom! he hasn't even been DIAGNOSED yet....". today, i am scared. i've been doing research. if it is cancer, the presence of the stricture means it's probably not good - in the advanced stages and stuff. i don't like the sound of that. i've said it time and time again (even though i work in the field and LOVE it) -- i absolutely hate nothing in the world except for cancer. it's mind boggling and it takes over so quickly sometimes that it's amazing. it pisses me off. i've lost a lot of wonderful patients to it and i certainly don't want to add my dad to that list.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!