Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Update

2006-08-09 - 11:44 a.m.

Whoa. I'm almost to the "three-month mark". Crapoly. I have no idea what I wrote about last time. But, this time, I can write about school being done for three weeks and good grades and wonderful times in clinical and the realization that I need to have a job where I can get close to my patients and get to know them and their families. A normal med/surg unit won't do it. Too many patients in and out. Not enough time to really get to know them and know if they like sugar with their tea or if they need a different kind of butter that only i can find for them or if they really want to be left alone or if they're longing for company. So, I think i've found a really good niche in the ICU. Patients are usually there for a while. They either get better or they don't (read: they die). Their families are there all the time. I can talk to their family members about what is going on with them, if they're comfortable and just what the heck all of those machines mean. And, I can reassure them that if an alarm goes off, it's usually something moot like the bed or the feeding tube or something and it doesn't mean their loved one is going into cardiac arrest right in front of their eyes. I can teach any kids what all of the numbers mean - "This is your mommy's heart rate. It's supposed to be between 60 and 100. Sometimes, though, it does go a little higher or a little lower than that. If it does, we keep an eye on it. So, if you ever see it do that, don't worry. If we're not in here watching, we're watching from out there. See? Let me show you where we can see it out here at the desk. But, if you think it gets too high or too low, you are certainly allowed to come and tell me, okay? Don't worry about bothering me because this is YOUR mommy we're talking about here. I want to keep her as well as I can for you, and it doesn't hurt if you tell me if you think things are wrong with her."

I hope I don't lose it. The feeling of not only taking care of my patient, but the family as well. They have to know. They SHOULD know. It's not hard to read a monitor. They should at least feel comfortable with it too so they can have some reassurance. They're hearts are hurting in different ways. We need to take care of them too. Especially in places like the ICU. So, I think that's where I want to work. Now, I've just gotta find the right hospital. I like the one I was at this summer. However, there is another one on "Pill Hill" that I want to check into. I've heard lots about it. I know lots of doctors who work there. And nurses. So, I'm going to see if I can go observe for a day. This is really pretty neat. I'm going to be in a position where I can SHOP for jobs and not just take the first one that comes along because I am desperate. I get to find a place that really works for me. I've only got 9 more months. I can do it. People do 9 month-long "debacles" all the time. That's where babies come from.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!