Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

and what's the deal with one-inch margins? and hanging indents?

2005-11-09 - 9:49 p.m.

writing a paper. now, papers used to be my 'thang. i spent four years vomiting out rancid thoughts, molding them into semi-sentences that weren't really sentences and i'd always get As. because, really, how can you grade 'creativity'? now? now, papers are not fun. oh sure, the research is always fun (i always loved cagney and lacey and thought that, if this nursing thing doesn't work out, i could be a detective), but the damn writing of the actual paper is a bear. citing. who the fuck knows how to cite correctly? the last time i had to cite anything was in 1993 when i turned in my five-page research paper that we worked on ALL SEMESTER. like, in class worked on. that's all we effing did for four months. and the teacher helped and all of our citing was correct and i think we pretty much did it all on Apple IIEs or something. with (real) floppy disks. floppy ones. floppy. and we didn't use APA style or whoever style. we used some chick named turabian. and it seemed easy. it's not hard, really. it's just REE-DICK-EWE-LUSS. do these people really think we come up with all of these facts and figures on our own? why can't they just trust that, yes, none of this came from our own brains and that, despite our attempts to cite correctly, we'll probably still get it wrong? so, my question is, why cite? oh sure, you gotta give credit where it's due and stuff. so, just type up a sheet with all of the names of all of the people who wrote all of the articles from which you found all of your information, right? and just say, Fred Poozylidoo wrote this article in 1994 about this disease and that's where i found this information. instead it's gotta be all: Poozylidoo, F. (1994). Article about this disease. The big book of diseases. New York, Franklin and Ben Publishing. Or something like that. Now, i'm getting journals and books and articles mixed up. capitalize this, indent this, italicize this. oh my God, how do people write dissertations?!?! addition: uh, during one of my 'paper breaks', i pulled an old scale out of my trunk that my friends gave me. it had been in my trunk for a few weeks. last time i weighed, my official weight loss total since the end of May was 34 pounds. now? now, it's 39 lbs. another 9 lbs and i'll be at the exact weight i was at when i was so God-awful frustrated about my recent weight gain of 30-ish pounds, had already tried many things with my doctor (including Xenical) and was headed to see a dietician (where i gained another 15 pounds despite 'proper food intake'). i can't believe it. rad.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!