Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Amazing

2005-08-11 - 5:06 p.m.

It's never going to end. This thing called life. I swear, it's a roller coaster and a half every day. Right now, I'm swinging from the car of about 11 roller coasters.
We moved. At five pm on Monday because the people who lived here before were told they had until five to get out. We were told they'd be out at noon. Someone lied. So, by midnight 17 we were all moved in. It all worked out fine. The next day, I went to work. It was okay, but I was extremely tired. The next day, I also went to work. After work, I decided to check out an information session at a local private college. Something about a new program for people who have their bachelor's degree in a discipline other than nursing, and are interested in obtaining a master's in nursing along with the ability to sit for the boards after 5 semesters of full time study. So, i went to that. And got juiced. And have been working like crazy ever since because, well, why the eff not? They've got 20 spots and not a lot of applicants because not everyone has the pre-requisites done. I have all but one done - and that's a simple stats class that apparently I can "take" by passing a little exam at the cost of $155. In addition to the spots, they've got 1.1 million dollars to invest in this program and it's people. So, I've applied. And I've written essays. And I've gotten people to write recs for me. And I applied for financial aid. And I figured out that I need to sell my car and buy a junker or use my friend A's car for the next two years. And the people where I work are so damn supportive and I haven't really talked to my parents about it yet. And I'm still waiting on one of my transcripts. But, as soon as I get that, i think I'm in. The admissions people and dean who ha and important person this and important person that send me emails. Like we're friends. And they make it sound do-able. So, in 10 days - YES, 10 DAYS - there's a 95% chance I'll be going to school full time and working part time. And getting the eff done with this nursing stuff in a two-year time period. And getting a master's degree out of it instead of an associate's degree. My bachelor's won't go to waste! Somehow, all of this is falling into place. And, sure I spent all last weekend ignoring the fact that this opportunity even existed and I pretended like I didn't want it and couldn't do it simply because I thought, "I've still got to unpack!" "I need to work for the next year to save money for when I'm in clinicals!" and "God. I just need a minute to breathe." And then, I finally got real with myself and on Monday stepped right back into the swing of getting all my shit together and now, it's done (minus the transcript - oh and the stats "class"). And I just wait. And enjoy life a little. Maybe watch a movie. Definitely watch the meteor shower tomorrow night. Chill out for a minute. Because it's all gonna happen. And explode. And be so insanely busy and fun and crazy and awesome and satisfying. And Oh. My. God. My "dream" of being a grad student is here. In such a smack-dab short amount of time. and in a completely different discipline than what I ever thought. BAM! Life is so damn funny....

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!