Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

I LOVE MY JOB.

2004-08-11 - 8:51 p.m.

Today is my parents' 31st anniversary. They're out to dinner and to a baseball game. How cute.

I absolutely, positively love my job. I had my first test at "being there" for an emotional patient yesterday. Considering I was not brought up to be compassionate and was not taught that hugging is okay, I think I did really fucking good. I mean, it's amazing how that shit just naturally takes over and, when a patient is sitting there bawling in your arms, you respond the way most humans would. It was so great. Because that was truly one of my greatest fears. Knowing how to respond to a crying/emotional patient. I could care less about the blood, vomit, shit or spittle. It was the humanness that was going to be difficult. And, I think I passed. Sure, I'll be better next time. But, for the first time? I did a kick ass job. And, I can do this. And, I totally love all of this stuff. I could give a shit that I'm making $2.30 less an hour. I love it.

We had steak tonight. It was a bit rare and I think it's about to do a number on my tummy. Yuck.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!