Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Study Break #1

2004-04-21 - 10:42 a.m.

Today is a major study day. I even moved everything out to the kitchen table so I wouldn't get on the internet and play around. But, then I thought it would be good to type out my notes and study guide answers, because I type much faster than I write. So I brought my laptop out here. And, since I have a wireless cable connection, here I am - study break #1. I used to think I had ADD, but now I know I don't. I just need some breaks like every 30 minutes - that is not bad, is it? It is good to take breaks, I think - it allows time for the stuff I've just gone over to sink into my head. I think...

I need to go buy new deodorant. There is some irritation crap going on because I had to get a different one b/c they were out of my usual one. The new one was okay for a while - until a few days ago. Now I just look like a gorilla half the time, scratching my armpits and such. Not pretty.

I FINALLY jotted down my ideas for my big story - okay, perhaps a novel. I AM NOT a novel writer. Not at all. I barely passed the two fiction writing classes I had to take in college. The only shit I can write is poetry, and I'm pretty sure most people would puke if they read my stuff. I haven't written in years, but there's been this story thing brewing in my head for about two years now. And this morning, when I woke up, words were swimming around in my head and sentences were forming and it was all about this story so I wrote some stuff down. Who knows if it will develop past that?!?! I can tell you one thing, though. I am very impatient when it comes to writing fiction. I just want the shit to be over with and I want the reader to be able to understand what it is I am trying to tell them without having to explain it all. But, I know that doesn't happen in the real world. I have a terrible problem with character development as well - I mean, why can't the seven year old boy turn into a 24 year old serial killer with no explanations or no travel through his teen years? It works in my head... maybe I should just write shit for me. And, it will be like fill in the blank stuff and I'll know what REALLY goes in the blanks, but my readers can just add their own stuff. That way, it will save me time. This is why I like poetry so much - there's a story, but it's so short and sweet (most of the time). And it's just over. And people can interpret it any way they want, really. Everything doesn't have to be spelled out. If this novel thing ever gets done, it will be over a tremendously long period of time. We're talking decades, I'm sure. I mean, it took me two years to finally write some stuff down. What the eff??

And who in the hell is yelling outside? Shut up. I'm studying!

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!