Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, my off day...

2004-02-10 - 11:48 p.m.

Long, weird day. First, I had my doctor's appointment at 10:15. I didn't leave until noon. Granted, I didn't get into a room until about 10:50, but I got attention for more than an hour. I told the doc about my anxiety stuff and how I wanted a tetanus shot. Well, then she was concerned about my b.p. and, gasp!, my thyroid. She said it looked enlarged. I rolled my eyes and told her I've heard that story all of my life and, most recently, in the last four years. She asked if I had had an ultrasound on my thyroid. Yes. I told her about the weight gain, the arthritis, etc. (AGAIN). But, now it seems as if she really thinks something is up and, perhaps there is something she can do about it? So, I got some b.p. meds, some anti-anxiety meds, a diet to follow, some blood taken, a tetanus shot and a return visit in two weeks. She's going to get to the bottom of this.

So then, I got home (neglecting my duty to stop by my dentist's office to give them my new insurance card b/c they recently sent out a claim with my old card b/c I thought Booie would be home for lunch). Booie was not home. I changed into my peejays and settled in for a kick ass, two-hour study session. The phone rang. Booie needed me to drive Booie to Urgent Care b/c Booie probably broke Booie's thumb. So, I put on my clothes again, grabbed my chemistry crap, threw together a cheese sandwich for Booie (literally - a cheese sandwich: two breads and a slice of cheese) and ran out the door, apologizing to Bill for not sticking around longer. We spent three hours at Urgent Care and Booie walked away with a sprain and a splint. No broken bones.

So, then we got home and I debated skipping chemistry, but reluctantly went after feeling guilty for just thinking about it. Good thing I did, too - I think I got another 100 on my quiz! Yipee!

Now, I am in terrible pain from my shot and should probably work on EMT, but I am exhausted.

Also, I'm really thinking about calling into work tomorrow. I went in on Monday for three hours to help out, "went in" today for three hours to take Booie to Urgent Care and those were my two off days! Tomorrow, I am only scheduled for six hours and, currently, I have three hours of overtime that I must cut. So, why go in at all, right? Besides, isn't it illegal to not give someone an off day in the span of a workweek? Oh, decisions, decisions. I'm frightened though, that if I do call off, it will look really bad on my part and my review is coming up. Either way, though, am I really going to get a good review? Probably not... they eff everybody in the end. No matter what you do around there, you get screwed. Exactly why I don't do much of anything except for my job anymore. I used to be on all kinds of extra committees and made sure I got all of the extra training I could. Eff that.

Oh, I'm so behind in school. 1.5 chapters in chem (although I understand the material - we're balancing equations now!!!) and 1 chapter in EMT. I think Friday or SAturday or Sunday or all three, I need to sit down and get some stuff DONE.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!