Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sex and the City

2004-01-11 - 11:51 p.m.

Shit. Samantha has cancer. And they're playing it off so well... so grown up and all and not at all 'sex and the city-ish'. It's serious. And that's so good. Because I don't think everyone understands how serious it can be. Take me for instance. I used to think, "Cancer... whatever... it's just a word. Nothing too harmful. If anyone told me I had cancer I would just ignore it and go on with my life and, due to my attempts to ignore it, it simply would not exist." And then, it happened. My mom wouldn't talk to me on the phone. So, I talked to my dad about my mom's breasts. And he said, 'Malignant'. And I finally understood what it felt like to have your heart in your throat or whatever that saying is. And it felt so real. And I kept thinking about how it was supposed to be so easy to beat. And how, after a few chemos here and a radiation there, it would be squished out of our lives... shunned from our dinner table conversations. But, it simply does not work that way. And, I know there are others out there who think the way I did. It's just a word. It can go away if you don't pay attention to it. But now, thanks to the fab four, everyone will soon understand how awful it can be. And I can't believe how differently I feel about those women now. I mean, they were all shoes and sex and shopping and brunching before. Now, they're all about reality. It's turning out to be an awesome end to a series.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!