Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Chemicals Rock! (warning: the following entry may put you to sleep)

2003-11-30 - 10:23 p.m.

Football DID take over. Go Bengals!

So, the work drama. There's this younger man (and I use the term man loosely) who works with me. A few months ago, he talked to me about our supervisor when we were alone on the sales floor. Our supervisor is married with one kid. But, he has many characteristics that, should one not know his marital status, could cause someone to stereotype him as gay. So, my co-worker kept telling me how gay our supervisor is and that he is on a mission to make sure this guy finally realizes he wants men and not women. Me, being non-confrontational said nothing. So, in the midst of all of this, our supervisor came out to talk to the two of us and told us he went out the night before. And co-worker said, "Oh... does your wife know about him?" And supervisor just laughed, said nothing and walked away. So, I went to our HR manager and told him I thought it was inappropriate and that I wasn't sure if my supervisor was laughing b/c he wasn't sure what to do or if he really just didn't care. So, HR guy pulls supervisor and co-worker into his office (separately) and talks to them. I told HR guy to keep my name out of it. Somehow, he forgot to do that. So, supervisor walks out of his meeting straight to co-worker and says, "Yeah, Koko said this about us. I guess we can't joke about anything anymore." So, HR guy evidently got everything screwed up and reprimanded supervisor and co-worker when it was just co-worker who should have been told to shut the eff up. Supervisor wasn't doing anything except listening to this crap from co-worker. Well, anyway, supervisor doesn't care that I went to HR guy about it. Co-worker hasn't spoken to me since. He'll walk by me and another co-worker and just talk to the other person. For that, I could give a shit. My life was fine before I ever talked to him and it will be fine if I never talk to him again. But, yesterday he effed up. Supervisor was standing next to me and co-worker walked up to supervisor and said, "Hey, I've got a joke for you. Oh wait, Koko's here... better not say anything around her". And, of course, supervisor just laughed. So, I called co-worker on the phone and after being hung up on twice, I finally was able to ask him if he would like to meet with HR guy this week. He said that's fine and hung up on me again. Really, how old are we here? I was so certain you had to be 18 to work at this company, but perhaps I'm wrong. I could honestly give two shits if this guy ever talked to me again. But, for him to chide me like that and continue to obviously "hold a grudge" for something that happened almost a month ago is just a little immature for my taste. I'm there to work, not play games. So, that is work drama. Small as it is, it's under my skin and this "boy" needs to be taught a lesson about how to keep inappropriate things from coming out of his mouth in the work environment.

Window drama terrifies me. It happens tomorow when we get five new windows. One in the living room, two in the kitchen and two in the bathroom. The bathroom I don't care about. But, I'm leary of the kitchen and the living room. I'm frightened of the mess I'm going to come home to tomorrow night. I'm frightened of how cold it's going to be in here tomorrow night. Really - windows in December!? I'm frightened Bill will get out of our rooms, get out of the house and then die. I just don't want this to be a big mess. I know you're thinking, "Shit, lady. It's just five new windows.", but with all of the "messes" we've had to deal with with our landlords before, I have little faith. When the ceiling fell in, it took two weeks to fix and then, we still had to clean up for days b/c they left a mess. Whatever.... I'm trying not to think about it.

Tomorrow, I also have to remember to switch my school schedule. Currently, I'm registered for chem, psych and math next quarter. I don't need the math anymore and I'm putting off the psych until I'm done with the EMT stuff. So, I've got to get into the EMT course - I hope I do b/c there are only two of them (at night) and I can only go to one of those b/c I have chem the other nights.

What a lame ass entry. Must go do sociology extra credit now. Must do it. No more slacking. Just get it the eff done. I'm so happy psych is a cake class or I'd be effing screwed. I'm also so happy I still love school. I can't wait for chem to kick my ass. Well, not really... but sort of, in that masochistic way that I sometimes have about me. You know, the part that hungers for the post-marathon pain I endured two years in a row. I can't wait to have chemical compound brain burnout and dream of atoms and electrons and all of that fun stuff. Go NaCl! It's the only formula I currently know right off the top of my head. Oh, except for H2O.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!