Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

School/Job

2003-10-27 - 10:05 p.m.

I finally have a day off tomorrow. All I have to do is go to school, do laundry, workout and study! And then, Wednesday I work from 4:30a - 1:30p so, that won't really even seem like I'm at work and then, I'm off again on Thursday with just more school, working out and studying to do.

I think I figured out that I don't need to take math. Which is great. So, next quarter (if the scheduling Gods have heard my prayers), I'll be in Chemistry on Tuesday and Thursday nights and Child Psych on Wednesday nights. AND - if all effing pans out well, I may not be working where I work anymore. Well, at least not full time. There's a woman I work with who's worked at an Oncology/Hematology Office for almost two years now - they're hiring. She wants me to work there. When I told her I had no idea how to do anything (vitals, draw blood, etc.) she claimed they would train me. They trained her. She has no nursing background. Not even the desire to attend nursing school - well, now she does b/c I'm trying to tell her how easy it is (financial aid and all of that jazz) - but, she's got four kids all by herself so I don't know... anyway. It would be such an opportunity if I got this job. First of all (and most important), I would get to wear scrubs. Secondly, I would learn everything about cancer and how it affects bodies and minds and hearts and I could just learn. But, it wouldn't be ALL my responsibility yet and I would just listen to hearbeats to make sure people were okay while receiving treatments. And take some blood. And wipe some tears. And hold some hands. And I could learn, learn, learn... And, then, when I'm a nurse, I could still work there and actually do the treatments. Or move on to a hospital and work with the kiddies like I want. Or whatever. All I know is this is an amazing experience so I'm hoping I can get it. Also, the kick ass part is that they don't need me until January which is just perfect considering I go to school during the day on Tuesdays and Thursdays and I still have a vacation I want/need to take in December. So, it would work out just fine. And, they're a M-F, 8-5 place... so, night school would still be okay. And, i'd have weekends off... except I'd probably spend about six hours on Saturday where I currently work just so, if something should get screwy, I can always go back and also to have a bit more income (new job actually pays about two bucks less/hour than what I'm making now - freakin' ridiculous!). So, I'm hoping this all pans out... everything just seems to be falling into place, it's amazing!

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!