Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

House

2003-10-09 - 7:27 a.m.

Today is the day my grandma's house turns into someone else's house. I hope no one shows up to bid on it and we just get to keep it. When she and my grandfather first moved in, it was 1/3 of that house. He built on the living room and then, he built on a smaller living room, a bedroom and a bathroom. Then, she had the garage built on and the back porch. And, we all did important things there like eat Cheerios and ponder which movie to choose from because we always got to see movies with Grandma. And, I don't know how many times I ice skated on that lake. And, how many times I was jealous of my mom for being able to swim in it when she was a kid. And all of the stories I heard about what is at the bottom of that lake - a table my grandfather once threw in there. A few cars that sat on the ice until it melted, etc. And that one time, I woke to flashing lights while staying there. Some kid was missing and his friends said he was playing by the lake. SCUBA people searched for him, but they found nothing b/c the kid showed up somewhere else, alive. And, I remember that tree house that Rocky built... it never really worked out. And all of the pudding pops we consumed while sitting on the back porch. And, all of the sticks we picked up for a nickel per stick - just so my grandma could safely mow her backyard. And, the tire swing. And, the little sidewalk out front - we would ride our big wheels down the sidewalk and it always seemed so long. It's really only about 20 feet. And, all of those pictures. I remember the one picture of me and Rocky on the front steps. I was about 4 and Rocky 3. It was right before we went to the park with my Dad - and I lost my Raggedy Ann purse. Luckily, my purse was in the picture, so I'll always remember it. And, all of those Christmases... and how, over the past few years, I always wondered if it was "the last one". This year it was. But, it was so quick and no one really wanted to be there b/c it just wasn't the same.

So now, it will be someone else's home. I hate it. They will not love it the same way I do.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!