Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Grandma's New Home

2003-09-15 - 11:09 a.m.

So, my grandma's all moved in. And, I still don't think she knows she's going to stay there. She kept saying things like, "Well, I have this or that at home." And, I'm scared she won't go where she needs to when she needs to. For instance, she has to go to the "Wellness Center" (where the nurse sits to hand out meds) every morning, afternoon and evening. And, she has to remember to go eat lunch at 12:30 and dinner at 5:30. But, the lovely thing about this place is that they'll track her down if she doesn't show up. I have a feeling they'll be tracking her down forever. And, if she tells them she's not hungry and doesn't want to go down, they can't force her, I don't think. She told the lady yesterday (who came in and helped her make her bed and took out her trash) that she could take a shower on her own. She never took a shower. Nothing was used. The shower wasn't wet. So, I hope they come to know her well enough to check up on things like that. And, I had no idea how many questions would come out of my mouth: "Will she eat alone?", "Will they check her shower to make sure it's wet?", "Will they make her take her meds?", "Will someone be around all the time to help her?" Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes and Yes. And, I'm sure they're used to the questions. And, I'm sure everything would get done even if we didn't ask... but, it just feels better to make sure. Everyone there is exceptionally nice. A few people already know MY name... in addition to all of the other family members and my grandma. It will take some time, I suppose. And, I know my mom and nice aunt will be there for the next couple of weeks probably every day to check on her. And, my cousin Carl and I are going to drive up there every couple of weeks together to take her out and visit. I just hope she adjusts. And, gets to know people. And, has an okay time. And, doesn't lock herself in her room. I just hope it's all okay. It's funny... the place is sort of like summer camp - there are activities every day and meal times and outings - but, everyone is in their own cabin. And, as far as I can tell, summer camp is not fun if you're in your own cabin, left to your own devices... I just hope they remember her and take care of her.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!