Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Doctors, cats and rats (no rats, really... it just rhymed)

2003-06-20 - 2:22 p.m.

So, the doctor doesn't know what it is and is concerned because of my age. She's testing me for Rheumatoid Arthritis and Lupus and some other stuff. I worked yesterday, but it wasn't fun. I had to call in today so I can be well-rested for tomorrow. Someone at work told me something yesterday that scared the balonie out of me: She has a friend who was diagnosed with Lupus a few years ago. Her friend is fine, but it is not a fun disease to have. (Mind you, this is while I'm sitting there still not certain as to what Lupus really is... hadn't done the 'Lupus Google' yet, so I didn't know all the specifics) Anyway, Kathy (girl at work) was all like, "Yeah. It took them forever to diagnose it because she never had any clear symptoms. I do know, though, that one of her first symptoms was sudden weight gain." I just looked at her and laughed. And she was like, "Oh. I don't mean you're going to gain a bunch of weight or anything. I mean, you might not even have it... so, you know." And I just stared at her and said, "Uh... I've already gained weight." And she said, "Well, I'm talking a lot of weight here. Like 30 pounds. And nothing she did would get the weight to come off. She was under a doctor's care and everything. Went to a dietician. Nothing worked." I really could not believe what I was hearing. I mean, what if this is it? Not that I want it. I don't. At all. Especially after I googled it. But, this could be the complete answer for the past three years of my life. The weight gain. The constant fatigue. And now, the severe pain in my joints. So... the doctor is taking my blood and testing it and, in two weeks, I'll know. I think if it is Lupus, I'll be relieved... kind of.... just to know what all this crap is/was for the past three years. I'll also be very relieved if it's not.

The other big news from yesterday was the addition of Bill. Bill would follow me and Booie up and down the street as we would walk to and from our cars for the past couple of weeks. Last night, Bill followed me so, I stopped to pet him. The neighbor lady walked up and told me he was a stray (left behind by another neighbor lady) and she would take him in if she could, but she already has two cats. So, I went in and told Booie and we sat outside and gave Bill some milk and tuna. We talked about it and about an hour later, took Bill inside. Then, Bill threw up the tuna. Seven times. Then, Booie went and bought Bill a disposable litter box and some food. As soon as we opened the litter box, Bill went straight to it. Then, Bill ate some food. Then, we all slept until about 4 a.m. when Bill wanted to crawl on our heads and talk to us. Then, we got up for real at 9 this morning, talked to our landlords (who broke down and called animal control yesterday and were very happy that someone was taking Bill) and went to buy Bill a whole bunch of fun cat stuff. Now Bill is high on catnip and sleeping under my bed. So, now it's Koko, Booie and Bill... and we're not even cat people! We like dogs best, but Bill kicks ass. He will be fun. As long as he's done with that puking business of his...

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!