Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Perfect Apartment Project

2003-05-13 - 9:13 p.m.

What happens every time I am done with my "weekend"? I always get the urge to do something drastic with our place, whether it be cleaning, rearranging, organizing or whatever. And, I always think, "Oh, I'll do it next Sunday and Monday." and the same thing happens week after week. But, today, I've got the fever big. So, I'm making a list. Because, while our home is not the worst place ever, there are some very simple and cheap things we can do to make it "unleaveable". So we can just have a fucking blast while were HERE and not have to worry about not having fun. So, I've got a list of things I'd like to accomplish by August 23rd (the first day of my ten-day-stay-at-home-and-play-because-it's-the-end-of-the-summer-vacation) so that I can enjoy my vacation to the fullest. So, here's my nerdy Perfect Apartment Project list:

Clean the "Boo's room". Make Booie figure out the clothes shit. Donate clothes to Goodwill. Computer monitor? Toss? Keep? Donate?

Clean out "my room". Get rid of all of the boxes and stupid storage containers. Buy nice storage shit if needed. Get rid of the entertainment center and put the teevee on the dresser. Get a VHS tape holder thing - maybe at Michael's -- paint that mother a nice shade of something. Get a DVD player for that room. Get cable installed in that room. Buy a new VCR for that room?

Find a nice spot or storage space for Booie's tools and paint and stuff. Make Booie participate in this.

Finish filing stuff in the filing cabinet. Everything else = toss. If it's not important enough for the filing cabinet or the fire-proof safe, it isn't important.

Figure out the stupid-unused speakers in the living room situation. Perhaps get a DVD/VHS tape holder for this spot instead of shitty speakers.

Figure out the-two-storage-containers-filled-with-clothes-I-really-probably-will-never-wear-again situation. Toss that shit.

Find a spot on a bookshelf for Booie's basketball press guides and for all of Booie's stuff pertaining to radio.

Build a bookshelf in "Booie's room"? Maybe something on the wall.

Get windowboxes for the boys and girls? Would they even like that? What about winter? Do not kill the boys and girls.

Ask the landlord people if we might be able to utilize the huge-ass storage rooms in the basement. Just a few boxes, really. I know they'll let us... we've just never asked.

Clean out all of my clothes. Really. There is no way I'll fit in those kick ass Eddie Bauer jeans from six years ago ever again. Same thing with those white shorts I was able to wear for nine years straight. It's over. Toss 'em.

Our place sounds like a pigsty, doesn't it? It's really not. We're just not overly abundant with closet space and we have 66 years of stuff (collectively) stored in here and it's not a small space, but it's just limited with storage and wall space and just space and we just need to get shit in order.

So, I've got what? Three months? Completely do-able.

before - after

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!